Jaimini Astrology

Please follow and like us:

Chara Karakas

 Jaimini astrology defines the Chara Karakas. The position of the Karaka depend on the planetary degrees in the horoscope. The most important thing is Atma Karaka, see Parasara Hora Shastra. Out of these Karakas, Atma Karaka is the most essential and has a prime say on the native, Atma Karaka is just as importance as king among others in the community so also is Atma Karaka in the country and it is also head of all affairs and is entitled to arrest and release men. (BPHS 32.8)

Jaimini Astrology

The following are the Seven Karakas mode of defined:


  1. Atma Karaka Self
  2. Amatya Karaka 2nd Karaka for self
  3. Bhratru Karaka Coborn
  4. Matru Karaka Mother
  5. Putra Karaka offspring
  6. Gnati Karaka Reletives
  7. Dara Karaka Spouse and Husband

Considering Calculation Rules

Talking about Chara Karaka in the planet specific sign is considered while relating it to calculation only the traversed length of the planets. So the planet with the highest length in his sign is Atma Karaka, the second Amatya Karaka and so on.
The manner at which Rahu is considered in reverse: Rahu order depends upon the distance from the end of his sign because Rahu is a regrograde planet.
The other importance thing to consider is Raman’s Rule
Seven planets are used by Raman and Shastri for Chara Karaka calculation. In this system,
Dara Karaka was not considered in Arudha Padas.

One of the most important features in Jaimini astrology is Arudha Padas. Each house of a chart has its Arudha Pada as a second point of influence.

The Special Arudhas that cannot but considered are:
• The Arudha of the 1st house is called Arudha Lagna.
• The Arudha of the 12th house is Upapada Lagna.
Remark: Vargas Arudha Padas are defined for all.

Arudha Padas Calculation
The method of calculating Arudha: many sign is been counted using the lord of a sign, as the lord is away from the basic sign.
Capricorn is in Second house while Saturn is in Pisces. So the distance from the underlying house (Cp) to Saturn has 3 different signs. After counting 3 different signs from Pisces, so Taurus will be the Arudha of the second house.
The Role of the Nodes
In jaimini Astrology Rahu and Ketu play a special role: they are co-lords of Aquarius (Rahu) and Scorpio (Ketu).
This is the reason why Rahu is considered as as lord of Aquarius, that is Rahu is stronger than Saturn. Ketu is also considere as the lord of Scorpio, meaning that Ketu is stronger than Mars.
Considering Parasara’s Rule
Establishment of Parasara rule goes does, if there are some exceptions from the above rule (fourth house rule).
Rule: if 1st, 4th, 7th or 10th house falls under the lord of the house, 4 houses must be deducted from the result.
• Saturn is in the Ascendant in Capricorn which makes the 1st house Arudha to be Libra.
• Arudha for Cancer Ascendant is the 4th house and Venus in Aries: Cancer will be the Arudha.

In case of Raman’s Rule
Fourth house rule do not apply to Raman and Shastri for Arudha calculation.
Configuration dialog can be use to configure the rule of Maitreya.
In most cases, Jaimini astrologers do not follow this rule.

Leave a Reply


Free Horoscope Readings

Join the mailing list today to get free consultations. I will be randomly selecting few from the list
First Name
Last Name
Email address
Secure and Spam free...